Leung Tsang
Professor, PIERS Chair
University of Michigan
Fellow of The Electromagnetics Academy / PIERS
Research Interests
  • Wave propagation and scattering, random media, rough surfaces with applications in environmental remote sensing
  • Computational electromagnetics
  • Signal integrity, electromagnetic compatibility
  • Photonic crystals and plasmonics

Leung Tsang is presently a Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. Leung Tsang was born in Hong Kong. He completed High School at Wah Yan College, Kowloon, Hong Kong. He received the SB, SM, EE, and Ph.D. degrees all from the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He was an Assistant/Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering at Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas in 1980-1983. He was a Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of Washington, Seattle, in 1983-2014, and was the Department Chair of UWEE in 2006-2011. Between 2001-2004, he was on leave from University of Washington and was a Professor Chair at the Department of Electronic Engineering of the City University of Hong Kong. He was the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Geoscience and Remote Sensing in 1996-2000. He was the President of IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society 2006-2007. Since April 2008, he has been the President of the Electromagnetics Academy, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Honors & Awards
  • Fellow, IEEE, 1990
  • Fellow, Optical Society of America, 1996
  • Outstanding Service Award, IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society, 2000
  • IEEE Third Millennium Medal, 2000
  • Fellow, Electromagnetics Academy, 2002
  • Distinguished Achievement Award, IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensng Society, 2008
  • Honorary Professor, Department of Electronic Engineering, City University of Hong Kong, 2004-2016
  • Adjunct Professor, Electromagnetics Academy, Zhejiang University, 2004-2009
  • "Fiorino Oro" (Golden Florin) Award, CeTeM (Center for Microwave Remote Sensing), Italy, 2010
  • William T Pecora Award (co-sponsored by Department of Interior USGS and NASA), 2012
  • “For his sustained contributions to the theory of microwave remote sensing” Member of Washington State Academy of Science, 2012
  • NASA Group Achievement Award: SMAPVEX12 Campaign, 2012
  • IEEE Electromagnetics Award , 2013
  • “For contributions to statistical electromagnetic theory and applications in remote sensing of complex geophysical environment” Van De Hulst Light Scattering Award (Elsevier), 2018
  • “For life-time achievement of landmark original contributions to the research field of electromagnetic scattering and its applications” Honorary Life Member of IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society, 2018
  • Member, National Academy of Engineering, 2020 “For contributions in wave scattering and microwave remote sensing theories for satellite missions.”